Pages

Subscribe:

Tuesday, 8 December 2015

THE HUNGERFORD BRIDGE

by:  MisS VictoriA DaviD


It is quite odd thing to name a bridge as Hungerford, as the first two-syllables once combined describes a strong desire for food, isn't that true?

The first historical design was created by Isambard Kingdom Brunel, the famous English engineer, in 1845. It was a suspension footbridges and train line connecting Waterloo and Charing Cross stations over the River Thames. The north part of the bridge is the Embankment and Charing Cross Station. The south side connects to the 'South Bank' complex, where you will find the festival hall.

In 1996, the footbridges were remodelled with new structures as it had become dilapidated and dangerous. The concept and detailed design was for new walkways on both the east and the west sides of the bridge. The original train line was just renovated, so as to cause minimum inconvenience to commuters. In 2002, the new pedestrian bridges were completed and opened to the public. Now, the spectacle of the bridge is an unusual blend of the old Victorian train line with its painted girders and the ultra modern walkway.

The 300 meter long decks of each new pedestrian bridges were secured using an ingenious method that consists of steel trusses, concrete pillars and many pylons that makes it a lighting and contemporary design.

The Hungerford Bridge today is sometimes know as the 'Charing Cross Station'. And, the footbridges is also known as the 'Golden Jubilee Bridges' in honour of Queen Elizabeth II.

 *Photo Courtesy of https://en.wikipedia.org

No comments:

Post a Comment